Let Go and Let God

EJ EX POST 03-17-2013 LET GO AND LET GOD

This has always been one of the most difficult things for me to do in my life.

I thought that anything that needed to be done should be done by me to my greatest ability. If I couldn’t do what was needed after giving it every effort, even asking help from others if need be, then I could ask for help from God. This belief came from the saying, “God helps he who helps himself.” I think I was very young when I heard that and took it to heart. I wore myself out all too often with this type of thinking and action. Though I tried to be, I’m not superhuman. I felt like a failure whenever I couldn’t do it all. This set me up for a lot of problems. This formula also gave me many successes that I may not have had otherwise but it was still an unhealthy balance in my mindset and emotions. I didn’t know how or even when to let Him help.

One day I was crying to a friend about the latest problem that I couldn’t fix, couldn’t accept, and wouldn’t stop working on though it was defeating me. I had prayed for help and nothing happened. I was confused, hurt, and self-blaming.

She told me that I wasn’t letting go and letting God.

What? I had done all that I could and I had prayed, and still the problem troubled me day and night!

“Let go and let God,” she said with a smile and then told me a story that stunned me with its simplicity and clear visualization of what I was doing wrong.

The following story that I share with you here now, opened my eyes. I have used this ever since to help me through the tough times and to better enjoy the good times too! I hope that it helps you as it has me.

“Let Go and Let God”

The child clutched her favorite toy against her trembling chest. Her breathes were ragged from crying so hard. The toy was broken. Try as she might, she couldn’t fix it.

“I’ve done all that I can. Now I can give it to God and He will fix it,” she sobbed as she knelt in prayer to ask Him for His help.

She waited and waited but nothing happened. She got up and went on with her days carrying her toy with her everywhere that she went. It kept her from being able to play because she wouldn’t let go of it. She worried so much about it that she couldn’t think enough to do her schoolwork. She started failing. She couldn’t sleep, barely ate. Still, she waited. Why wasn’t God helping her?

One day she decided that she couldn’t take it anymore and got down on her knees once again. She was hurt and angry. God had promised to help once she had done all that she could. She had done that and had asked.

“Father, why haven’t you fixed my toy?” she demanded. Her tears fell and spiked her lashes as she prayed. “You promised!”

“My dear child,” His voice came to her mind and she could see His hand extended to her as He spoke, “You never let go of it so that I could!”

She took a deep, sighing breath as she looked from His hand to her toy. Giving her precious possession one last hug, she then set it into His hand and wordlessly left the room.

Soon she was busy playing with her friends again and tried hard to not think about her toy. She had been taught to trust God, so every time her fear and worry tried to come back, she pushed it away and kept herself busy with other things. She went to bed that night with a thankful prayer and slept peacefully for the first time in a long time.

When she woke up the next morning, there was her toy beside her, all shiny and new, whole and beautiful once again. Snatching it up, she hugged it close against her as she ran from the room with her heart full of joy.

“Thank you God!” she cried out with a laugh.

“You’re welcome, my child,” she heard Him answer and could feel His smile, “Please call on Me whenever you wish and I will walk with you, play with you anytime, and help you in all that you do, not just when you think that you need Me. I love you!”

She stopped and thought about what He was saying and she smiled. Reaching her hand to Him, she laughed and said, “Thank you! It’s a beautiful day. Come on, let’s play!”

~ With God, all things are possible. You have to let go and let Him be there. Whenever I forget that and try do all, be all, I remember this story and smile.

Give it all to God, the good and the bad, and enjoy the journey with Him!

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Enjoy the Journey! Life's Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let Go and Let God

  1. Onisha Ellis says:

    If I could consistently remember to commit my plans to God each day, my life would run a lot smoother. I’m sure I miss out on many opportunities this way.

    • dagonsblood says:

      Though this analogy seems simple, simple does not necessarily mean it is easy to do. I find that I get “me” in the way all too often. It takes practice to let go and let God. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

