I Would Have You Live!

total-eclipse PALM COVE, AUSTRALIA 11-14-2012

“Gone?” Leigha exclaimed, turning her startled eyes to meet his as Jesep turned and left the room. “Where are you going? Aren’t you sailing with us in the morning?”

“No, Leigha, I’m afraid that I cannot,” Simon answered, pleading with his eyes for her to understand as he spoke. “You must understand why I can’t. I must return to England and turn myself in. Your father has written a letter for me to his friend, William Pitt. If all goes well, my record will be cleared, and I won’t have to spend my life looking back over my shoulder like a hunted animal.”

“But they might hang you!” Leigha cried, looking first to him and then turning to Charles. “Father, you must talk him out of this madness!”

“I cannot, for I believe that he is right,” Charles said and quickly tried to reassure her. “You must not be so worried. I’m certain that William can help keep Simon from the gallows. You know that I would not let him go otherwise if I thought that there was the slightest chance that Simon would be killed.”

Leigha thought about Lord Dagon’s words for a moment. But what if he were wrong?

“Wait! What if he became Stephen again?” she suggested with hope. Her heart dropped at the dark looks on their faces as they reacted to her words, and trying to keep from crying, she stammered, “He . . . he did that well enough when he was at Dagonmoor!”

“Would you have me live a lie?” Simon asked quietly, though his words sliced as sharp steel across her heart. “Would you have me be even remotely like him?”

“I would have you live!” she nearly screamed her grief and pain as fear of his decided course welled up within her breast. She covered her face with her hands as she broke down in tears and sobbed, “I would have you live!”

Virginia Lee ~ Dagon’s Blood (p. 508-509) Kindle Edition

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Excerpt from Dagon's Blood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Would Have You Live!

  1. Dan says:

    Again, Virginia writes about love, commitment, and integrity. What a great book! Fantastic story, wirtten with traditional values, and most of all, love.

Leave a Reply

