“I rather fancy Scotland!”

“There’s another issue we must discuss. We have yet to clear your name in England so that you will be able to go there and claim Evansworth without getting hung as a deserter.”

“I don’t know how we’ll be able to manage that feat!” Simon said, puzzled by the small smile he saw. “No army takes kindly to deserters.”

“No, but I have some connections at court, providing that the rebellion has been put down by now.” Charles pursed his lips in thought as he reached for his pipe. Pausing to light it, he then continued, “I should be able to pull enough strings to get you off the hook. The fact that you have had an excellent record in the past will help the most I’m sure, so together, we should be able to get everything straightened out.”

“I don’t want Evansworth, it was never my home as I’ve told you, but I would surely like to have my name cleared if you can manage that.” Simon smiled, his spirits lifting as he realized that not all was lost to him. “I don’t believe that my path of life lies in the service of the king any longer, but I would hate to spend the rest of my life looking over my shoulder for someone to recognize me and send me to the hangman!”

“I certainly hope that we will be able to prevent that! But Evansworth is very valuable, my boy! Why don’t you want it?”

“There are too many bad memories connected with it. I’d rather not ever have to return there at all.”

“Then sell it if it means that little to you. The sale alone should make you a very wealthy man, enough to keep you comfortable for the rest of your life, no matter where you choose to live.”

“I rather fancy Scotland!” Simon smiled, bringing a laugh from Charles.

“I somehow thought that you would!”

Virginia Lee ~ Dagon’s Blood (p.493) Kindle Edition

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Excerpt from Dagon's Blood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I rather fancy Scotland!”

  1. fuonlyknew says:

    I laughed right along with Charles! I really like him. And Simon brings out all kinds of emotions in me.

  2. danniehill says:

    Dagon’s Blood brings so much to the table!

  3. Dan says:

    Dagon’s Blood is one of the epic novels that all should read!

Leave a Reply

