What is the Difference Between Faith and Trust?

There is much going on in my life the past few weeks with more yet to come. Major changes and issues loom on the horizon in all areas of my life; home, job, family, and health. I feel more than a bit daunted by it all.

I take long walks . . .

I sit by the river and think . . .

Then I remember something I was told once and I smile with a sigh.

Here is a question . . .

What is the difference between Faith and Trust?

There is a story I heard once that illustrates the answer ~

     Jesus is standing beside the Grand Canyon and smiling. He has an empty wheelbarrow poised upon a rope which is tied and stretches from one side of the canyon to the other. Do you have faith enough to believe that He can walk that wheelbarrow on the rope across to the other side without incident?

Now, here is the difference between Faith and Trust . . .

                     Get in that wheelbarrow.

Taking a deep breath, I pray now with a sense of peace and gratitude, and then I carry on. It’s going to take some time to sort it all out. I don’t know where I’m going to end up or even how. I do know that I must let go and let God. I can do one day at a time. I have just celebrated 32 years of being clean and sober by learning to do just that, and more.  I have faith and trust that I am not alone. I choose to get in that wheelbarrow. I know that when I allow it, I will enjoy the ride!

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Enjoy the Journey! Life's Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is the Difference Between Faith and Trust?

  1. Excellent post, Ginny! All of us should read and reread.

    • dagonsblood says:

      Thank you very much, Thomas. Its one I must keep reminding myself of from time to time. 😉 I’m glad that you stopped in to enjoy it and have left such a nice comment! Thank you.

  2. Dan says:

    Great post. I hope there is room for me in the wheelbarrow too!

Leave a Reply

