FIVE STAR REVIEWS OF DAGON’S BLOOD

Posted On:

Amazon U.S.A.

5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic Sweep Like the Classic Historical Movies, February 6, 2012

By Merlyn “Writer and Music Lover” (Deep South, USA)

Amazon Verified Purchase

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Kindle Edition)

Set against the Jacobite Rising/Rebellion of 1745, Dagon’s Blood is the story of a young woman caught in the conflict engulfing her native Scotland and England.

Leigha Clairemont is a woman of extraordinary beauty. So striking is her loveliness that it is, at once, an asset and a liability. Men desire her to the extent of deadly clashes.

When English forces attack Clairemont manor, Leigha’s father–a known Jacobite–is killed and she is captured by an English captain named Simon Montieth. He calls her “Little One.” She turns into what another man will later call her, “Tigress,” and leaves the captain for dead.

Dagon’s Blood takes Leigha from the adopted manor house of Dagon, to the Island of Crete and the slave markets of Constantinople. Her loveliness enraptures three men who long to possess her–exclusively.

Virginia Lee has created a cast of characters in this book that may remind readers of the vast sweep of bygone epic movies. The men are truly masculine and the women, truly feminine–though strong as they need to be to survive in perilous times.

Several surprises await readers as secrets of the great families in Scotland and England are uncovered throughout the tale.

This is one of those unusual books that often make readers slow down toward the end, unwilling to leave their new land and friends.

Highly recommended.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars I await the sequel, December 12, 2011

By brooktroutmko

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Paperback)

I first heard of the Lady Leigha Clairmont many years ago.
Of sailing ships, and twins – one good, one not – practicably
indiscernible from each other, but oh so different.

Today I found in my hands a beautifully written account of this young
woman’s life as it sprang from the imagination of this author and onto
the written page.

Reading the words I am transported back in time to watch the goings on.
To suffer along with the main character through the pains of her losses,
and the joys of her triumphs. What will happen next…

This is not a book that I will forget. I await the sequel.

5.0 out of 5 stars What an exciting read!, August 30, 2011

By Tarrin Lupo (Savannah, Ga)   

Amazon Verified Purchase

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Kindle Edition)

This was a fantastic read! It starts of with a bang and does’t ever stop. I was hesitant about taking on a book this long, but I quickly realized I was flying through it because it flowed so well. I also enjoyed learning all about the Jackobite Revolution in such detail. Very few authors write about this time period and I want to give Kudos to Mrs. Lee for bringing it to life. The Heroine was likable and I enjoyed her interaction between her and her suitors. I also assume Mrs. Lee has spent some time on a horse because her subtle knowledge of them was impressive. The way she describes the very small details sucks the reader into feeling as if they are actually riding the beast. Tons of twist and turns keep this book going and I really found the descriptions of 1740’s Africa mesmerizing. If you love history, romance and adventure rolled into an epic tale, then you will love this book!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Marvelous Read!, August 29, 2011

By N. Medina “LizzieBeth” (WTBY, CT, USA)

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Kindle Edition)

I recently got the chance to read an arc of this book and I must say that I’ve enjoyed it immensely. Virginia Lee pens such an enticing, heart-wrenching tale that it’s hard to put the book down once you’ve started reading it.

At the beginning, I didn’t like Simon Montieth that much when he decided to try and have his way with Lady Leigha Clairemont. At times, I wanted to reach into the book and tug on his hair to make him see reason. Yet I am glad that he was not the cold, heartless man that he seemed to be. Seeing him blossom into the gentleman that he is was very endearing.

As I continued reading, and envisioning the world that Virginia lovingly painted for us, I found myself drawn to the lives of each of her characters. I detested Camille’s treachery. And felt deeply when Leigha was wrenched from Robert’s grasp. Even more so, when she was taken from Simon’s side. I confess that I was irked at Turk for what he’d done to Leigha after spiriting her away from under Simon’s nose, but was able to understand that it was born out of desperate need rather that a necessity.

Nearing the end of the book, I felt the loss of Robert as if it were the loss of a true friend. Yet knowing that Simon was waiting in the wings, so to speak, made the ending all the more moving.

Virginia pours so much heart and so much feeling into her story that it’s hard not to feel for the characters, and the world, that she’s penned. I’ve truly enjoyed every moment of her story and hope that all those who get the chance to read it will love it just as much. I’m truly looking forward to more of her future works. This book is quite a marvelous read!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Sent my heart racing over and over!, May 27, 2011

By Marie Rowe “Marie” (Ann Arbor, MI USA)

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Kindle Edition)

I read this book on the recommendation of a friend and I must say I am pleased that I did. From the very first page you are drawn in to the spirit of the heroin Leigha Claremont.

The first chapter had me shooshing my husband as not to interrupt my joy and from then on it was all I could do to not put this book down. I started reading it while on vacation in Las Vegas and was hard pressed to join my husband and friends in their fun because all I could think about was how my new favorite heroin would fare in her current situation.

The clarity and reality in which Ms. Lee writes her characters emotions left me breathless with so many of my own. I want to read this book over and over again to share in all of the emotions it stirred time and again.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Dagon’s Blood, March 28, 2011

By wolfjustice74

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Paperback)

Excitement and intrigue abound in this book. Its filled with drama, suspense, romance and more action than the pages can contain. Diabolical schemes of epic proportions entertain and delight you with mind blowing twists and turns through a labyrinth of plots. You won’t be able to catch your breath nor put it down, this book draws you in from the beginning and keeps you hooked until the end.

Amazon U.K.

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible book, Could not put down, 20 Feb 2012

By Jan Metal Man

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Paperback)

As advertised, this is an incredibly good book – believe all the hype and purchase it immediately!

I bought this book on the strength of previous reviews and am pleased to say I was not disappointed.

The writer captivates her audience and weaves such magic with her words. The characters are well formed and the storyline rolls well.

I am looking forward to a sequel.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! Must read!!, 2 Sep 2011

By COLIN GEORGE REES (CARDIFF, WALES United Kingdom)

This review is from: Dagon’s Blood (Kindle Edition)

A breathtaking, exhilarating journey across continents, written with knowledge and passion. Virginia Lee has researched her history thoroughly and her characters are brought to life with a brilliance. Cannot wait to read more!

If you only buy one book this Autumn, make it this one.

GOODREADS:

Cari L. Pedstelak  5 Stars

Wonderful! @dagonsblood takes the reader back in time on an adventurous &, at times, perilous romantic ride through tragedies & triumphs with incredibly well-developed characters!

Feb 16, 2012 04:38pm

Juju   5 Stars

This was one of the best books I have ever read it has love and action what more could you ask for. I could not put the book down. I recommend this book to everyone I know and even people I don’t know. I can’t wait to read the next one.

Feb 21, 2011 09:13pm

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Dagon's Blood Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FIVE STAR REVIEWS OF DAGON’S BLOOD

  1. danniehill says:

    The readers speak! Dagon’s Blood is on my must read list! Wonderful reviews, Virginia.

Leave a Reply

