Enjoy the Morning!

Florida ~ Spring 1988

The bus had just picked my children up for school and I was now free to enjoy the morning. I didn’t have to go to work for a few hours and was looking forward to spending some time with John, my friend who lived next door. He was like a grandfather to me and the children. I could always count on him for a good cup of coffee and conversation. John was expecting me and was already out on his screened in porch setting up the coffee for us, calling out, “Good morning!” as I came out of my house. I grinned and charged down my steps to run barefooted across the soft, cool grass between our homes, just like a kid!

I raised my arm to wave hello and was startled as my foot slammed into something hard beneath it. My leg was still mid-air with knee bent, my foot not yet near the ground. I started to pitch forward from the sudden halt and felt my whole body caught as if it were held in strong, invisible arms. I looked down to see what my foot had hit. There was nothing there but air between me and a large, colorful snake . . . a very poisonous coral snake! I would have stepped right on it and been bitten! I surely would have been had I fallen next to it! I felt the arms gently guide me slowly backwards away from the deadly serpent. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it! My heart seemed to be slamming right out of my chest and I choked as my stomach came up into my throat. I heard John yelling, asking what was wrong, and I called out to tell him there was a coral snake. He ran down his steps, went to his shed, and emerged with a long handled hoe. Quickly spotting the invading creature, he dispatched it without a qualm. I sat down on my steps and started shaking and crying as I realized how close I had just come to possible death. John came over to hold me when he finished with the intruder. I’m sure he was even more concerned when I started laughing! Was I in shock? Yes, of course, but mostly I was now feeling such great relief and gratitude that I was laughing with joy! John had certainly helped but it was a greater force than he that had saved me that morning. I was alive and I was loved! Enjoy the morning? With the precious gift of God’s grace and mercy, I get to enjoy life!

Have you ever experienced an intervention; something invisible or unexplainable?

“Red on yellow, poison fellow; red on black, safe from attack.”

About dagonsblood

Virginia Lee enriches her writing with her experiences of the human spirit, sharing the same in her work of helping others. Enjoy the journey!
This entry was posted in Enjoy the Journey! Life's Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Enjoy the Morning!

  1. danniehill says:

    God’s touch is not always mysterious. As I read I was trying to recall that rhyme. Never could remember so there’s a few poor king snakes that were unduly punished by my hand. Glad you are safe!

    • dagonsblood says:

      This was pretty direct I’d say! No doubt here! :-D Living where I was in those years, I had this memorized. I think its better you are safe than sorry, at least you erred on the safe side. Glad you are here. Great to share with friends like you. ;-)

  2. fuonlyknew says:

    You were truly blessed that time Ginny:) I once fell off a short overhang and time slowed to a crawl. I was deposited gently to the ground. I know what you are feeling.
    Beautiful cup of coffee!
    I have heard other versions of that rhyme. I always use this one as there are so many coral snakes here.
    Red on Yellow, Kill a Fellow
    Red on Black, Friend of Jack!

    • dagonsblood says:

      Thank you, Laura, for sharing one of your experiences too! I have had several of those “slow” falls! I know the feeling. It is awesome and still gives me goosebumps when I think of them! There are several versions of the rhyme. The important thing to remember is “Red on Yellow ~ Kills!” Coral snakes are predominant in the south. I’m glad that you stay safe! Always good to share with you, my dear friend. ;-)

  3. Dan says:

    Many do not realize God’s intervention when it happens. Only a few get a glimpse, and even fewer talk about it. Thank you for your keen eye and beautiful prose. God happens all the time when you let him.

Leave a Reply

